NoCoPoMo – Week 4

And for our last installment of NoCoPoMo (for this year, anyway, it was so much fun I might have to repeat next year!) we have: Incredibly Mediocre Shredded Chicken! Woot! At least Nate has been eating the leftovers of this, so it must have been better than the pulled pork from week 1.5 that has been sitting in the freezer. I thought it was good when we ate it, but apparently after some distance and consideration it was decided to be “not good.” I think it’s just a barbecue sauce preference.

This recipe was for tostadas, but I just made the chicken, then we mushed together our own tacos. I didn’t think there was anything special about the chicken, but it made good taco stuffing! It’s nice to mix it up from the ground beef every so often.

Adapted from the Chicken Tostadas recipe from Better Homes and Gardens The Ultimate Slow Cooker Book:

  • 3 tbsp chili powder
  • 3 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 fresh jalapeno peppers, seeded & finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp bottled hot pepper sauce
  • 8 (8!) cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium onion, sliced and separated into rings
  • 2 lbs skinless, boneless chicken thighs

Combine chili powder, lime juice, jalapenos, hot pepper sauce, and garlic in slow cooker. Add onion, top with chicken. Cook on low heat for 5-6 hours or high heat for 2 1/2 to 3 hours. Remove chicken and onion from cooker; reserve 1/2 c cooking liquid. Pull chicken into shreds. Combine chicken, onion, and cooking liquid in bowl.

I didn’t take any pictures because shredded chicken doesn’t actually look that appealing.

My goals for December are:

  1. Use a different cookbook – I feel like I cooked from the one cookbook all month. I have many others, and most of them have slow cooker sections. It’s just so convenient when the whole book is devoted to the slow cooker!
  2. Use my Dutch oven, which I think is what I would cook a lot of my slow cooker recipes in if I wasn’t using the slow cooker.

That should be doable. The “challenge” for this month was to pack lunch every day. Nate usually takes leftovers and I don’t usually leave the house, so, that will be easy. Unless I actually get a job, at which time this whole cooking thing will probably collapse in on itself. I’ve had a pretty busy past few days – two whole busy days in a row – and we ended up going to Sonic last night. Fail.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “NoCoPoMo – Week 4

  1. The crockpot is the abso;ute best for shredded chicken. Cook 4 hours and then shred with the batter blade in my kitchenaid!

  2. Erin says:

    You should check out http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/ . Stephanie used her crockpot everyday in 2008, so she has tons of recipes there. I really like her baked potato soup :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

