De-Brand My Life

The other day, I was taking a shower (I feel that a lot of posts will start like this, as the shower is a great place to think!) and I started counting.  Not randomly, although that does happen occasionally.  I was counting the brands on the products I could see while in perhaps the smallest part of our apartment.

Ten.

Ten brands in the whopping 2% of our not-exactly-spacious apartment!  Yes, the bathroom is a bit of a brand-heavy environment, but I think that’s a little bit of brand-overload.

So I’m starting a project.  One of those projects that Nate probably wouldn’t see eye to eye with me on so I’m keeping it low-key and seeing how it goes.

I want to de-brand or at least minimize the branding and, coincidently, I think, the STUFF that fills our home.  I’m a bit of a pack rat, so this might be a really good exercise for me.  We’ll see.

To kick things off, I did this:

Shower
de-branded shampoo and conditioner

And it makes me very happy every time I see it.

Leave a Reply

