I guess the ‘burbs have their perks too

I have quite a deep dislike of the suburbs – the strip malls and sub-divisions and cul-de-sacs.  I have many reasons for this dislike, which could make for a nice post some other day.  So for now, let it suffice to say that I very begrudgingly moved to our apartment now, that it is absolutely as far from the city as I will go, and I would like to move closer to the city as soon as possible and preferably before my head explodes.

However, this weekend the suburbs provided me with three full evenings of music, friends, food, and drinks – helped, of course by the gorgeous weather – as a whole community (as well as interlopers like ourselves, it wasn’t really our ‘burb) came together for food and music.  Pat Benatar, REO Speedwagon, and Creedence Clearwater Revisited.  FREE.

Amazing.

Concert Chairs

We missed the memo about bringing your lawn chair

We spent almost the whole time at all three concerts standing in a packed space with no view of the stage.  It was great anyway.  We made it our goal to see each of the performers on stage at least once, which we managed to do through some sneaky crowd navigating.  Although I do recall spending a few awkward moments firmly pinned between my father-in-law and a very drunk REO Speedwagon fan trying to get through the crowd.

REO Speedwagon

REO Speedwagon

Creedence Clearwater Revisited

Creedence Clearwater Revisited

Leave a Reply

