the Conundrum of de-branding

Cabinet

I have a way to go

I was about 30 seconds into the “de-branding my life” project when I realized that this was going to be a very difficult project.  For several reasons.

  1. Sometimes brands don’t come off, or even after you take them off you can still tell what it is.
  2. I (heart) Apple.
  3. & Crate & Barrel
  4. & IKEA
  5. The glass mason jars I used to hold by dry goods are Ball.  A brand.  That now holds more territory in my cabinet than anything else, except for Barilla.
  6. I (heart) Barilla.
  7. There’s really no such thing as “de-branding” because, by creating a space in which the brands are removed or de-emphasized, you are essentially branding the space.

Ahhhhh *pew pew* (head explodes)

So. For my own sanity, I’m changing the verbiage to Minimize/Minimizing. I’m minimizing:

  1. the number of brands in my home
  2. the presence of brands in my home
  3. the amount of stuff in general, and organizing what I do have

Hahahahahaha.  Good luck with that!

Which, I think, is oddly going to emphasize the brands that ARE used.  Which I really don’t think was the original point, but we’ll see how it turns out.

One thought on “the Conundrum of de-branding

  1. Jo says:

    I heart Apple.

    And man. I hadn’t even thought of this. I’m interested to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

