Resolutions: February

I took a test last week.  The second architecture test I probably failed.  Of course, they don’t tell you right away.  You have to wait six weeks or so to find out, then six months to take it again.  I even studied!  And, OH, it was not easy.  Trying to find trigonometry in my brain that hasn’t done math since High School.  It was painful.  I’m lucky because Nate is good at math, so he helped me re-learn when I was stumped.  But I’m not very hopeful about the final outcome of the test.  I felt completely lost taking it.

Onward!  To February.  The January goal has been completed, however shabbily, and away we go.  On this first day of February, I would like to officially state my February goal:

To be on-time to work.

I’d be proud of making it to work on time ONCE this month.  But I will set my sights higher and perhaps by the time March gets here, I will have cemented a positive habit.

I don’t know when I got 5-10 minutes behind in my life, but it must have been very early on and I have not been able to catch up since.  This was constantly a problem as a child, when my whole family would be sitting in the car and my Dad would yell inside that they were leaving whether I was in the car or not.  They did pull away once, although it was well after I had graduated from college, so I could certainly fend for my self if I hadn’t caught the van as it reached the end of the driveway.

I’ve tried all sorts of things:

  • setting my clock a few minutes faster
  • shortening my morning routine
  • doubling (tripling, quadrupling) the time I think it will take me to get somewhere/get something done

to no avail.  When I do happen to get out of the house on time or early, THERE IS ALWAYS A WRECK ON THE HIGHWAY.  Only when I am going to work, but still.  At least then I’m only the usual amount late, not extra late because of traffic.

So this month I am going to be on time to work.  My goal is for 3 or more days each week, and I already count Tuesdays out because I have a “morning commitment.”  So that only gives me one day a week of wiggle room, which is a good start.  I don’t believe in “cold turkey” anyway.

This will take some work.

First, I will need to go to bed on time every night.  I’m an old lady, I go to bed at 10PM.  If I don’t I am grump(ier than usual, which is already pretty grumpy) in the morning.  If I am grumpy in the morning, I stand in the shower and growl at the water instead of taking a shower.  I don’t like showering.  It’s both my first and second least favorite parts of the morning.  Getting wet is my first-least-favorite part, getting out of the shower is my second-least-favorite part.  Both are my least favorites because they are COLD.  And I do not like to be cold.

Second, I will need to make coffee BEFORE I dry my hair and do my make-up.  If I wait until after, I will most likely run out of time and not make coffee, but decide that I should stop and get coffee before I get to work, which actually saves me no time at all.  And it costs money.  Not much, but still more than making coffee at home.

Third, I must remember that I don’t have extra time in the morning.  Those dishes that I think I can put away right-this-second before-I-run-out-the-door?  I can’t.  It will make me late, and besides, Nate will put them away when he gets home, right?  I want to check my email?  It can wait until work.  Should I touch-up my toenail polish?  NO, I should go to work, no one sees my toes anyway.

So, off to work I go.  On time.

They say that if you can do something seven times in a row, it becomes a habit.  I hope that by the end of the month, being on-time to work (and then everywhere else) will have become a habit.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Resolutions: February

  1. Jo says:

    Fingers crossed for the test results!

    And that is a beautiful resolution. I’m hopeful!

Leave a Reply

