What I’m Reading: Two Books at Once?!

Looking through my Goodreads friends, it seems that everyone but me is reading several books at once! It’s really not my style – I prefer getting wrapped up in one story at a time, savoring it, living in it, and fully putting it aside before I embark on a (usually completely different) new journey through the next book. I always wonder how they do it – keeping stories and characters and plot lines straight.

Well, this past Saturday, as Nate was watching the 4,839,025th football game of the day, I decided I wanted to read a book. I’ve been reading Robert Penn Warren’s All the King’s Men, and I have really been enjoying it. It is the first book in quite a while where the writing is as good as the story. Warren tends to drift off into descriptive and explanatory passages without me even noticing, then he ties it back into the story seamlessly and easily. But All the King’s Men takes a bit of mental energy to read. Not much, but I lose focus pretty easily especially if the TV is on, so I knew it would be useless to try reading it while watching football.

All The King's Men

Luckily, I had just been to the library to pick up a few books that had arrived off my (incredibly long) reserves list. One book that arrived was The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I reserved it because it was another book on my reading list but I didn’t expect to like it. I’m not a huge fan of science fiction or fantasy and I certainly would not have read it if it hadn’t made the magic list. But, as soon as it came (and I saw how short it was) I really wanted to read it!

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

And so, when I was looking for a book to fill my football-watching time, I picked up The Hitchhiker’s Guide and started reading. I’m not entirely sure this counts as reading multiple books at once, since I finished the book the same day. But I did enjoy The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It was fun, easy, and short. I think the most interesting part was the different technologies Adams wrote about in the 1970’s that actually exist today! The Hitchhiker’s Guide itself exists on a small box with a screen and buttons, which I saw in my mind as a clunky smart phone, and there is a passage describing how volume knobs on the radio progressed from knobs to buttons to touchscreen to waving your hand around. Very interesting. Of course, there are many technologies we haven’t quite figured out yet!

There are several more Hitchhiker’s Guide books, so I might put them on my reading list too – after I finish the first 140 or so books, of course. And! The best part! Nate seemed interested in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy too! I always get excited when I can share my love of reading.

Now I just have to finish the FIRST book. Which I don’t think will be too much of a chore. Then it’s on to The Secret History by Donna Tartt.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Two Books at Once?!

  1. Jo says:

    I only read one at a time, I just tend to read pretty quickly. The only time I double up is if I’m reading a non-fiction book that is either a) dry or b) I’m trying to retain, so I go slowly. Then I’ll supplement with fiction.

    (I haven’t read Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’s one of my nerd secrets).

    • Saretta says:

      I guess that’s why I read Hitchhiker’s Guide – I was reading the first book pretty slowly and needed something quick and light. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction, although I would like to. My fiction to-read list is just too long at this point! (And Hitchhiker’s Guide is a super quick read – if you want to read it. My nerd secret is all the “classics” I haven’t read and should have…especially for someone who loves to read!)

Leave a Reply

