New Year, New House

U-Hauling all our things to the new house

A few days before Christmas, Nate and I, with the help of so many hardworking friends and family, moved everything from our apartment to our new house.  If you had asked me three months ago, I would have told you that no, thank you, I would not be buying a house in the near future.  With interest rates predicted to be low for the next few years, many fine houses on the market at low prices, and uncertainty about what we would be doing, we were in no hurry.

Then, after a short series of unfortunate events and a mini-freak-out from Nate about what he wanted to do with his life, we decided to rent a house near our apartment, stay for a few years, and reevaluate.

Packing up the apartment

Thus began the rental house search.

It’s not an easy task, you see, to find a house that is nice enough that you want to live in it but ugly enough that you can afford it.  After several “NO” houses, I took Nate to drive by a house that I though looked promising.  It turned out to be quite far from our dream house, but on the way there, we passed a house with a gigantic “for sale” sign and noticed a little, tiny “for rent” sign next to it.

So we called the number and I went to see it the next evening.  Nate was in class, so I went by myself.  I liked the house.  It was remodeled, clean, and the landlords were super nice.  Because the house was also listed for sale, I showed Nate photos online that evening.  He first asked me why I hadn’t just signed the papers while I was there, then asked, wait, why are we not looking at buying this house?

Well, dear, because we just had this huge discussion about what we wanted to do and where we wanted to be and why we couldn’t buy right now and how we could manage oh whatever should we do.  And we came to a conclusion and we’re following that path WHICH DOES NOT INCLUDE BUYING A HOUSE.

We bought the house.

Possessions: Transported

And really it’s turning out to be a great decision.  Of course, there will always be projects and headaches and upkeep, but it’s OURS!

After the After-Party

And it’s cute, of course.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “New Year, New House

  1. Jo says:

    YAY!! And congratulations!!

  2. Erin says:

    Yay! More pictures, please!

Leave a comment